My salad dressing days


Ms Chick, go to the back of the class
September 29, 2005, 11:13 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s my second Spanish class this evening and I haven’t done my homework.

Which is rather pathetic given that my ‘homework’ was a mini-crossword, peppered with the occasional give-us-a-clue letter containing ALL the words we learnt at the last class (seven).

**la?? (Clue: ‘A greeting’) Hmmm…

And I have decided that whenever anyone asks ‘Que tal?*’, quite regardless of how I am really feeling, I will always say ‘estupendamente’ because it is so fabulous to say (es-too-pend-a-men-tay! SIX WHOLE SYLLABLES! beat that, French!). Although I might sometimes say ‘fatal’ and roll my eyes, just for dramatic effect.

The problem with taking night classes and hanging out in your local community college is that you come across all manner of courses you wish you had taken instead. As I walked up to my classroom last week, there was a photo display on the wall of handbags made by the fashion and sewing class. Wowee!

Having not actually enrolled at the time, I came home and told Mr Chick how I was considering a last minute switch. His response:

‘So you do the sewing course and you what? Make three or four handbags? What are you going to do with that many handbags?’

Has he learnt nothing these past thirteen years?

Sigh…

Oh, and I think I’m already a big hit with my teacher, who asked what the Basque region was famous for. ‘Terrorists!’ I yelled. ‘Yes, that’s right, my home region is known for its nationalist movement.’

* revised following glaring linguistic error spotted by Jenny (hey! I’ve only been going for a week!) – this renders some of the llama jokes in the comments rather redundant – sorry, chaps…