My salad dressing days


How to buff up your ego
June 7, 2007, 6:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Join an online community. Offer advice on every subject under the sun about which you have merest ounce of knowledge.

In the past thirty days, I have proferred what (little) wisdom I have on the following topics:

  • Recipes that use asapargus and haloumi cheese
  • Tourist destinations in Turkey
  • Coping with regression in potty training
  • Dress codes for funerals
  • How to treat garden furniture*
  • The unsuitability of parmesan cheese for vegetarians
  • Film recommendations
  • The prevalence of racial stereotyping of Gypsies
  • Where to buy a cheap, reliable, second hand washer-dryer
  • Treatment of recurrent urinary tract infections
  • Planning legislation regarding the conversion of a garage into a bedroom

Really, I’m just one small step away from an agony aunt column in a tabloid newspaper or one of those one-word-titled women’s weeklies, in which my advice will range from psycho-sexual counselling through to the best way to cook a kohlrabi.

* in our case: badly, so it warps whilst left outside during the winter months

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Gypsies eh? Wish I could’ve joined in. Had to do a presentation on Josef Koudelka once.

Comment by @themill

I’ve been doing that for four and a half years now. Never knew I knew so much. That message board gain is Camden Age Concern’s loss: I used to teach computer and Internet skills as a volunteer there. I don’t have the time any longer: I’m needed elsewhere and I don’t have to traipse on the tube for it.

Actually, I stopped being so keen to give away my time to that charity when I realised how much the guy who was organising the courses was being paid.

Comment by Bela

I gave advice about how to explain the difference between wattage and voltage recently. I seem to have gotten away with it so far 😉

Comment by Justine

heh – why do you think I started Halp!?

http://uhalp.blogspot.com

for all your problems

pimp, pimp

Comment by GreatSheElephant

I think I’d like to be paid now for my services.

Comment by Bela

I’m off to Nerja, Spain on Saturday. Any ideas where to go? Except the beach and the caves. (And not including indoors, I know your trying out your new Pale for the Planet thing, but I don’t want to spend my holiday indoors.)

Comment by the boy who likes to...




Leave a Reply

