My salad dressing days


Sometimes I’d like to be American
February 14, 2007, 11:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

just so I could say ‘you do the math!’ and ‘awesome!’ without people laughing at me.

26 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What makes you think you wouldn’t still be laughed at?

Comment by Kellycat

or “Take a hint, honey!”

Comment by Justine

kellycat: fair point

justine: indeedy – y’see, i think it would so liberating, linguistically speaking (“hold the mayo!” and “one egg, sunny side up!”)

Comment by Urban Chick

Shouldn’t that be “one egg, over easy?” Just a thought.

Comment by dorisdayiwish

dorisdayiwish: ah yes, that’s what i was thinking of (see, i’d be a hopeless pseudo-american)

Comment by Urban Chick

‘Go figure!’

Comment by Spinsterella

gnarly blog, dude.

Comment by James

You’re a righteous babe.

Hey, if this new blogger thing is so great, why do I have to do a word verification even though I am already signed in?

Comment by Justine

and all that “ballpark” stuff.

Comment by Billy

james: ‘gnarly’? is that good?

justine: i dunno…’cause they is evil?

billy: yeh, and the whole ‘no brainer’ thing – i mean, i always get confused: is a ‘no brainer’ something so obvious you should do it or something so stupid you should never do it?

Comment by Urban Chick

I thought “no-brainer” was self-referential: only people who have no brains ever say it. It’s a no-brainer, dude.

Oops.

Comment by Mr Farty

mr farty: well, that would explain why i have never been able to get to grips with the expression (makes mental note to self to renew MENSA membership forthwith)

Comment by Urban Chick

To quote the Urban Dictionary – Gnarly is when you’ve gone beyond radical, beyond extreme, it’s balls out danger, & or perfection, & or skill or all of that combined. So pretty good, yeah.

Comment by James

I want to say ‘Knock yourself out’ when the cops turn up on my doorstep and ask if they can ransack my home for evidence. (You can tell I watch too many US series.)

Comment by Bela

PS. Obviously, ‘yourselves’ since I decided there would be several cops after all. LOL!

Comment by Bela

(I pretty much randomly came across this blog)

It’s not any easier being American. I can’t say “Let’s get a few pints” or “git” without people giving me weird looks.

Besides, England has “bloody”, which beats the crap out of any American swear-words.

The grass is always greener on the other side of the pond, eh?

😛

Comment by Michael

I often want to be British so I can say:

Bugger off
Spot on
Very well then
A bit cross
Loo / water closet
pissed (meaning drunk. In the states pissed means a bit cross)

Comment by The Lazy Iguana

I want to be British so I can say I “twigged” what was going on and have folks here twig what that means. I really enjoy finding new British slang words. Maybe we could set up some sort of slang exchange program, letting stray phrases and words visit our respective countries for a stay?

Comment by katiedid

YES! Slang exchange! We need that! At least I need that.

When I arrive at LHR airport one of these days I want to be able to understand what the bloody hell everyone is saying.

Comment by The Lazy Iguana

These comments are just the best…

Gnarly, you might say.

Comment by Teeny

Oooooo! This is really exciting! Can we put some Scottish expressions in too, like: “Haud yer wheesht, ye big numpty!” or “Fit fit fits fit fit?”. This last is a particularly fine use of the English language (originating in the wilder parts of Scotland – ie Aberdeen) and means, roughly translated: “Which foot fits into this shoe?”.

Comment by motherhen

In the US the medical slang is also much cooler, we have ‘U&Es’ they have ‘lytes’ and also they get to do things ‘stat’ which we never do, must be the waiting lists.
Over here you get ‘weans’ for kids and even ‘grandweans’ for littler kids.

Comment by realdoc

i’ve always wanted to order a pastrami on rye, despite not having the faintest idea what pastrami is. something like corned beef, in my head. but with pastry.

Comment by surly girl

Intersections such as “Sunset and Vine” do it for me. Love the idea so much I’ve embraced it in my own little opus. So the Cameo Bar is on Admiralty and Commercial. And so on.

Comment by Peter

What about “You go, girl” ? Or a friend of mine longs to be able to say “No, you di’nt” but unfortunately, neither of us can get away with it.
Being from East London, I can JUST manage pronouncing ‘council’ as ‘cahn-cil’ but draw the line as using rhyming slang.

Comment by Ponytail

Can we Canadians get in on this too, eh?

My Uncle came on a visit from Scotland and had to have “meatloaf” and “pecan pie”.

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

