My salad dressing days


Practices unpleasant
January 4, 2007, 8:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Whatever your views about the blog Girl With A One Track Mind and her naivety (or not) at not having anticipated being outed when the book of her blog was published, the manner of her outing (courtesy of that shitty little excuse for a newspaper The Sunday Times) was pretty unpleasant.

It must have taken immense restraint to resist the urge to publish it before now, but Abby has just posted the email she received from the News Editor Nicholas Hellen the night before the story was published.

Untold numbers of people – both slebs and mere mortals – are subjected to this sort of treatment by our nation’s media all the time, but it’s interesting (read: sick-making) to get a peek behind the scenes at their ‘methods’.

Nice, huh?

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are right. These people make weasels look principled.

And “colourful eveningwear”? What does that mean? Lesley Garrett in a ballgown, or Jessica Rabbit??

Comment by the plate invigilator

Urgh. Despicable behaviour. Nothing else to say, really!

Comment by Hannah

I’d never heard of this woman. (Where have I been? LOL!) Makes me realize I write about the wrong thing. Obviously.

‘What started out as a private place for me to express my thoughts and vent my feelings…’? Naive? Disingenuous, more like. Does she deserve what has befallen her? Probably.

Comment by Bela

I dunno. While I agree that the media can and do make the life of ordinary people a misery, I have quite limited sympathy for this woman given that she has published a book and obviously in some sense wants the attention (I do feel extremely sorry for her mother). I’m also actually surprised (impressed isn’t quite the right word) that the Sunday Times warned her. She could have taken out an injunction to prevent publication but she didn’t – I remain somewhat of the opinion that it was all a PR stunt to aid book sales.

Comment by GreatSheElephant

very interesting UC. I don’t like that they involved her mother but other than that tend to agree with GSE.

thanks for pointing out a place for another old married bag to get sex tips 🙂

Comment by Kyahgirl

I think its pretty disgusting behaviour outing her like that. And there is no excuse for involving her mother. What legitimate interest does the public really have in her or her mothers identity? Surely there must be some important issues that actually NEED to be investigated and exposed.

Comment by Make Tea Not War

I’m inclined to agree with bela. Ultimately, there really are compelling reasons for folks to write anonymously, like folks who are whistling on governmental or corporate misbehaviour, for example. However, if one publically publishes anything at all, one must expect that being revealed is a possibility. Why folks would expect any more anonymity on a blog than in, say, a political pamphlet in the days of old, is beyond me. One argument she puts forward: “The reason I wanted to remain anonymous was not because I am in any way ashamed of my lifestyle – the opposite in fact – but because I was worried that the people whom I’ve been intimate with, might recognise themselves in my writing.” Which is why I truly think bela is right on. It’s fairly disingenous. She moved platforms, from an online journal, to a printed published book. That’s private? If it’s sitting on a book seller’s rack next to the Grishams and Rowlings, the “privacy” thing seems to be largely rendered moot. Of course folks are going to want to know who the hell an “anonymous” author is. It’s natual human curiosity, and those same papers that are going to give her book publicity want to sell papers just as much as she wants to sell her book. If she truly wanted to protect her various partners’ privacy, she would have written her journal offline in the first place. Or once she got her site underway, she could have sought any new partners’ permission to write about their encounters. Those would have been awkward conversations, sure, but if protecting their identities was that important, wouldn’t it have seemed a priority? I mean, I sympathize with self-expression, but there’s a difference between expressing for your own sake, and expressing for an audience. Which is what you do whenever you publish, online or in print.

Her poor mom, though. That is just gross of anyone, let alone the press, to treat her with any level of contempt like that. That’s awful.

I don’t know what to make of the secretive ambush photos. That must feel awful and I would hate for it to happen to me. But then, I doubt it would. I publish everything with my full name right there in the copyright notice, and I don’t have any books. I am not a cute or salacious little anony mouse, just a regular ol’ nobody ;P

Comment by katiedid

to clarify: i think she has been at best stupendously naive or at worst downright disingenuous, but what i am objecting to is the tactics used by the media (in her case, the veiled blackmail of outing her mother and her profession)

sadly, the same tactics are used on people who have not courted publicity by publishing a book (salacious or not)

(separately, i also believe that public figures and those who choose to live their lives in the public eye do have some rights to privacy)

Comment by Urban Chick

As someone who has worked on papers seen as more “downmarket” than the Sunday Times, it was a reality check to see that the so-called ‘quality’ press are just as at home in the gutter as others, with whom you at least know what you are getting – even if it has been raked up out of someone’s bin.

Comment by Linda




Leave a Reply

