My salad dressing days


Too cute
December 11, 2006, 9:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s heartening to know that there are those who get here after scouring the internet for things other than ‘defecating women’ and ‘gorgeous 36f breasts’.

Following an edict from Kofi, no doubt, some UN official had cause to Google ‘plural of referendum’ and ended up here on my blog.

As (s)he discovered, I was equally clueless. Something about gerunds.

(United Nations)

New York, New York, United States, 0 returning visits

Date
28th September 2006
Time
20:01:54
WebPage
urbanchickadee.blogspot.com/2005/09/pedantry-myopia-and-vintage-dolly.html

www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=plural of referendum

Adorable.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow – the UN I’m impressed I’ve never had them visit.

Comment by Jane

Referenda?

Comment by Hannah

Oh. Or not, it appears.

Comment by Hannah

I’ve found your blog because you found mine – hope the Dutch Apple Cake turned out ok. It’s so bloody easy, I make it all the time.
Forums – fora
Referendums – referenda
Agends – agenda??? ok now I’m in a muddle, explain what the rule is.

Comment by herschelian

I don’t think there is a rule.

Some nouns have kept their Latin plural (like Bacterium => Bacteria
Crisis => Crises
Alumnus => Alumni
Datum => Data)

But “referenda” and “fora” both sound wankerishly pretentious to me.

Comment by Alan

When I were a lad, the plural of antenna was antennae, but I see even New Scientist has antennas now.

It’ll all end in tears.

Comment by Farty




Leave a Reply

