My salad dressing days


You comment, I pay!
May 11, 2006, 5:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The ever-resourceful Katie of Scentzilla and Seldom Nice Nowadays has pulled together a group of bloggers for what she hopes will become a regular fundraising event.

This year it coincides with Mother’s Day in the USA and the idea is that we bloggers try and use it as an opportunity to raise money for charity. (Katie explains her thinking over here, so have a read.)

Basically, for every individual commenter who leaves a comment on this post, I have decided to donate £1 to Womankind Worldwide, a UK-based charity that helps women in developing countries – silenced or isolated by harmful traditions, conflict, violence and intimidation or the sheer exhaustion of surviving in poverty – to have a distinctive say in what goes on in their family, community and country.

Other bloggers participating in Benevolent Blogging include:

So if you head over to their blogs too and leave a comment, you’ll be adding to the amounts they donate to their chosen charities.

I’m on holiday now for the next three weeks, so there’s plenty of time to rack up the comments so that I dig deep into my wallet when I return.

51 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay! I’m first!

Comment by MJ

Hurrah! May the comments be numerous. 🙂

Comment by Diana

Hurrah for women, worldwide!

Comment by Whinger

What a wonderful idea!!

Comment by Meegan

Hullo! Just popping in to thank you once again – and of course, to make you pony up another £ for charity 🙂

Here’s a fantastic quote I found:

“Giving money is a very good criterion, in a way, of a person�s mental health. Generous people are rarely mentally ill people.” ~ Karl Menninger

And another:
“Many persons have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness. It is not attained through self-gratification but through fidelity to a worthy cause.” ~ Helen Keller

Take care, and have a wonderful vacation/holiday!

Comment by katiedid

happy to spend your money for you

Comment by GreatSheElephant

Okay Urban Chickadee, cough it up! Hope the move is going well 🙂

Comment by frangelita

That’s incredibly generous of you; brilliant idea.

Comment by Hannah

Thanks for giving 🙂

Comment by Beauty Chick

and me, don’t forget to come by my blog on Sunday too!!!!

Comment by kyahgirl

Hello again. Another pound …cha ching!!

Comment by Kyahgirl

That’s such a good idea.
Have a great holiday, you deserve it!

Comment by mig bardsley

what a great idea!

Comment by Justine

Another quid from your purse.

Best of luck with the holiday and move.

Comment by Betty

And anybody who comments to my blog gets a reply, absolutely free of charge.

Seriously, good idea and good cause…

Comment by Darius

very good idea, and very worthy cause.
what is this charity like? I ask because I work in Malawi, I’m a development economist; one potential problem when supporting a lot of well-meaning charities and good causes is that there are often hundreds of NGOs working in the same field, in a funny kind of ‘competition’ with each other, all trying to carve a niche out for themselves.

the upshot is you can get chaos in the field and not much being done for the intended beneficiaries. parts of the press here are heartily sick of the many programmes about gender based violence and HIV/AIDS. They assume that many exist just to pay large salaries to their employees, which is sometimes the case.

anyway, boring lectures apart, I think this is a great idea. I’d do the same myself, but I never get more than a couple of comments!

Comment by the Maradona of Malawi

okay, i had a look at the website, I like some of this:

“We help women get organised
In many different ways, we help women come together, often for the first time, to talk about what they want to change, and then we help them achieve it.”

I think one of the most important things in southern africa is getting women involved in trade unions, especially where there are big estate farms around.

anyway, sorry for boring you all, but at least it’s another pound!

Comment by the Maradona of Malawi

Greatings from a fellow blogger. You are very generous and I thank you for your benevolent blogging.
Fragrant wishes

Comment by andy

Have a great holiday! May you come back to loads of comments.

Comment by Tania

yet another drive by comment.

Comment by Frank

Commenting and saying hello dear! You’re always on my mind and I try to stop by as often as possible! I hope all is well.

Comment by Sticky Keys

Wonderful cause! Glad to “pitch in”!

Comment by Emerald Market Girl

Happy Mothers Day and have a great holiday!

Comment by Annieytown

Happy Mothers Day! I hope you’re having a nice holiday:)

Comment by actonbell

Happy Mother’s Day! I hope you are having a wonderful holiday.

Comment by colombina

Happy mother’s day!

Comment by Jenny G

Hope the comments continue to come in!!

Comment by B.

best wishes from a fellow benevolent blogger

Heather

Comment by Heather

Good luck with benevolent blogging.

Comment by Chris

Making an even 30…

Comment by Meegan

enjoy your holiday, and thanks for participating!

Comment by ducklet

Glad to see that you are racking up the comments!!! Good luck today!

Comment by LotionBarBunny

Happy Mother’s Day!

Comment by The Scented Salamander

No comment

Comment by the plate invigilator

Wow. This is very generous of you. I’m not sure I could bring myself to do it — I wouldn’t trust my nephew not to leave 300 comments overnight.

Comment by Annie Rhiannon

top work uc – i feel inspired myself though my charity of choice probably could do with more than the £3 i might raise. will check it out though.
happy holiday

Comment by spindleshanks

sounds like a good charity – and one that’s now getting just that bit more publicity. yay you!

Comment by Anna

Great idea! I can think of no better way of getting dozens of comments on one post.

Kidding! Obviously. Well done you.

Comment by Pashmina

Excellent idea! I hope that some of the money gets to go to women in Turkey – I only recently realised just how difficult life is for women there.

Comment by belladona

Any chance of organising “Malevolent blogging”? For every post we leave you promise to carry out a minor act of annoyance on some derving institution? Like calling a call centre, saying “oh, just a moment” and putting them on hold?

(Does this count for £1?)

Comment by Stef the engineer

Verry funny replies on here – I recently became a blogger and love how we can all reach out to each other! It’s a brilliant way to raise money!

Comment by ebbye

just doing my bit for good…

Comment by Justine

Bloody hell, you must be having a good holiday. It has been forever.

Comment by Martha

an other #$- oops, just realised my laptop doesn’t have a pound sign, silly old septics. Ne’ mind. If you get chance to read all these in the week you’re back before pack to go to northern climes, then you’ve done very well.

Comment by Anonymous

now, that’s quite enough holiday for anyone. Just come back, wouldya? (GSE here)

Comment by shoppersaurus rex

i miss you ….waaaaaa.

hugs,
L

Comment by Kyahgirl

Geez. Aren’t you back yet?

And I thought Wyndham had gone on the Longest Holiday on Earth…

Comment by Pashmina

Alright, so where are you then? Everyone’s doing these “blog breaks” at the moment. I do NOT approve.

Comment by frangelita

Put in one for me….

Comment by othur-me

OK, so enough with the interminable holiday already. I am suffering Chicklet Withdrawal (it’s quite serious, apparently). Get your tailfeathers back to Blighty sharpish. (And now you have to pay another pound to charity – proof that whining benefits EVERYBODY).

Comment by the plate invigilator

How great, giving money without actually giving money…

Comment by Melissa




Leave a Reply

