My salad dressing days


Stuff? Got too much of it…
May 6, 2006, 1:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It is preoccupation with possessions, more than anything else, that prevents us from living freely and nobly.

Ain’t it the truth, Bertrand.

*sighs*

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay! I’m first! Yes, I really do need my homemade pink poodle lamp. Can you believe someone would practically give away a pink poodle lamp at a yard sale?

Comment by MJ

And I really do need a heart shaped stencil for dusting chocolate powder onto coffees, and those little table-cloth weights you order from charity catalogues!

Comment by Justine

feh, Bertrand may have been very clever but did he understand the lure of shoes, handbags and perfumes? No he didn’t.

Comment by GreatSheElephant

Aw, good old Bertrand. I am of course undeniably biased on the subject of quoting him, as I feel it should just generally be done much more often 😉

Comment by katiedid

Like most of the male persuasion, I collect. Vinyl records. SF novels. Hi-fi magazines (they just accumulate really). Hi-fi equipment (even when I can’t pretend I need it). And for no reason I can discern, coffee jars. Dozens, scores of them. It just started one day, you know? And then you can’t stop.

Anyway, I dragged my library of books and my couple of thousand records from SA to London — and then, much enlarged, from London back to SA. Is it worth it? Yes, a thousand times yes.

Comment by DavetheF

I’m pretty light on possessions. I can fit absolutely everything I own in the back of my micra. And it’s mainly books.

Does it make me free? Not altogether sure about that…

What on earth are tablecloth weights?

Comment by Spinsterella

If only they didn’t sell take away food in those immensely useful re-usable plastic boxes with air tight lids. All different shapes and sizes.
What use is freedom if you haven’t got a neat little plastic box to keep it in.

Comment by mig bardsley

awesome idea!

Comment by jatue

Bertrand was probably right, but… I used to hate being lumbered with stuff, now I don’t know how I would live without it. I love my ‘things’.

Comment by Bela




Leave a Reply

