My salad dressing days


Do not underestimate the therapeutic quality
April 30, 2006, 1:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Posted by Picasa

of dancing in your living room to music which reminds you of your youth.

There I was in my skin-tight striped jeans, batwing jumper, legwarmers and pixie boots with my layered fringe swept off to one side dreaming of spandex leotards and dancing around fountains with some of my classmates at the New York School for the Performing Arts.

And, of course, I am now bringing the music to a whole new generation: after strutting her stuff to ‘Hi Fidelity’ and ‘Des-da-des-da-des-da-MONA’, Chicklet #1 remarked to me sagely: ‘Good music!’.

The gal is indisputably classy.

Her mother’s daughter, natch.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m hoping for a similar Footloose rave soon – as soon as I work out what to do with the large black disc the music is stuck on.

Comment by Martha

wot’s this then? a new look? a new name? wot?

Comment by Kyahgirl

please let it have “starmaker” on it. please.

and of course, “it’s gonna be a long night”. all together now….”the moon’s up, and the sun’s down….”

Comment by surly girl

Come on, UC, just step up to the mike and say what’s on your mind…

Comment by the plate invigilator

Brilliant UC! Next time Gorgeous Babe stays with us I shall introduce her to a whole old world of music. If I can find the wind up thing we used to play it on!

Advertising standards been after you have they?

Comment by mig bardsley

up until this post, I’d blocked out of my mind the horrors of 80’s fashion…

Comment by Violet

I do hope you can find little tiny leg-warmers for Miss Chicklet.

Comment by Whinger

the fashion was great at the time – I always felt unattractive in my teens but felt good in leg-warmers, long t-shirts and dancing was cool, which was great as I was in a musical theatre group at the time.
what great memories you have jogged for me – I loved Leroy! I saw the Kids From Fame at the NEC in Birmingham.

Comment by yclepta




Leave a Reply

