My salad dressing days


It’s desperately uncool but I can’t help myself
February 23, 2006, 1:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I love country and western music.

The more bluegrassy, the better.

Dolly, Johnny, Tammy, Emmylou, the Dixie Chicks – I love ’em all. More so since I saw the brilliant Johnny Cash bio-flick ‘Walk The Line’ (featuring the delicious Joaquin Phoenix).

Why does this feel like another dirty little secret?

**makes plans to take lessons in banjo, or the autoharp, or the fiddle…**

P.S. Did you know that if you listen to Magic 105.4FM between the hours of 1-3am you are guaranteed to hear ‘Islands in the stream’? Insomnia was never so much fun.

18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love all the older C&W.

During a George Jones concert I attended, there wasn’t a dry eye in the house, even from the men, when he sang “He Stopped Loving Her Today.”

Dolly Parton will sing at the upcoming Oscars.

Stop me before I go on and on about C&W. Must look for your email address to continue the conversation.

Comment by MJ

UC, you’re a woman after my own heart! I love country – but it’s not really all that uncool to like it here in southcentral Pennsylvania – and Johnny Cash and Dolly Parton are right at the top of my list of favorite country singers ever. I also love the really twangy ones! My personal favorite is Brad Paisley. Check him out: http://www.bradpaisley.com. He’s cute AND he’s an awesome guitar player. ๐Ÿ™‚

I thought Walk the Line was great, too! It came out on DVD the other day, and I think I’ll add it to my collection.

*shakes head in wonder* I never would have guessed you were a country fan, too.

Comment by Rusty

You’re not alone, UC. I love the Dixie Chicks and Johnny Cash and Dolly Parton and lots of others whose names I can’t remember (I’m notoriously bad with names). I want to see that film so much I might even go to the cinema to see it and not wait for it to be shown on the telly in two years’ time. Country music is energizing and fun. Lovely! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Bela

I know many many lyrics to the old C&W songs because of many a youthful road trip with my father. It’s such fun sing-along music, and you should not be the least bit ashamed. See you in Dollywood this summer.

Comment by Whinger

I’m guilty of the same secret, although mine is mostly still a secret in the real world!

I recommend John Prine, there is a duets album (I think called – IN spite of Ourselves), it is brilliant.

Comment by Martha

Have you seen “Nashville”, Robert Altman’s hilarious and brilliant take on the country scene? It’s an absolute must-see if you haven’t.

Comment by DavetheF

banjo lessons! OH YES! xoxo

Comment by mireille

It isn’t cool, it’s *warm*. Mmmm.

And John Prine is lovely.

Comment by mig bardsley

I, too, love all that C & W stuff. Good fun, great stories, not like all the head-banging stuff now !! Gotta go and see Walk The Line, I’ve heard it is amazing. Johnny Cash has the most incredible voice. Take care, Meow

Comment by Meow

*whispers*

ilikekennyrogers

Comment by surly girl

Islands in the Stream is a timeless classic. As is anything and everything by Dolly Parton.

Walk the Line rocks (though that is partly because of Reese’s wardrobe, as discussed), but the music’s pretty ace too. And *allegedly* they sang all their own songs..

Also have a sizeable soft spot for Glenn Campbell and Bobbie Gentry, but you can keep that Billy Ray Cyrus and his ilk (in which I include Kenny Chesney and Dwight Yokum and anyone else who shifts shedloads of records in the States) well away from me.

Comment by Pashmina

Neil Young, W. Nelson… I like the older stuff more. Never went in for Dolly but I do like Johnny Cash. It’s funny how different Country Music is viewed in Europe and in the U.S., and how different the fans in the U.S. are from those in Europe. Not too many pickup trucks with rebel flags and shotguns hanging in the back in London or France.

Comment by Neal Turner

I love all kinds of music and have only come over to ‘country’ in the last 7 or 8 years. We have a great station here…won the ‘best country station in Canada’ award for several years now. You can listen on-line.
sometimes, when I hear a song on there I can hardly believe its classed as country. Have you heard Jonny Reid? He’s from Scotland way-awesome.

Comment by Kyahgirl

Well I think it is uncool but I love it to – although since Johnny Cash died it seems to be ok to be out about it!
Nickelcreek are incredible, Alison Krauss has got rather mushy but the instrumental talent is amazing, Emmylou has one of the best voices ever, along with Linda Ronstadt, Neil Young is just brilliant… shall I go on?
I didn’t like Dolly until I heard her singing with Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris on an album together… beautiful!!!!

Comment by yclepta

It’s all good as far as I’m concerned, but if you haven’t already, you should also have a listen to some of the umpteen alt-country bands/artists, who kind of straddle country and indie. Lambchop, Calexico, Richmond Fontaine, Sixteen Horsepower, Son Volt, Uncle Tupelo, Wilco, Whiskeytown, Will Oldham, and so it goes on…all of them superb.

Comment by patroclus

On her album ‘Central Reservation,’ Beth Orton duets with Emmylou and also Ryan Adams. You may like it.

And isn’t Walk The Line fabulous?! Aaaaah, Joaquin…. *drool*

Comment by Hannah

As the song goes:

‘I liked Country better back when it was ugly,
No one ever called Hank Jr. a purty thang,
Nobody could compete with Dolly Parton’s wigs,
And her boobs wasn’t this damn big,
And the best lookin’ man in Nashville was a fellow named K.D. Lang.’

Comment by Chixulub

My dad and three of his brothers were bluegrass musicians.
Jim (my dad) played rhythm guitar, Charlie played lead, Paul played bass and Bill played guitar and fiddle.
They always tool their instruments on family gatherings.
I guess that’s why I can’t stand most mainstream FM pop country. I’ve heard some of the real thing.

Comment by Nigel Patel




Leave a Reply

