My salad dressing days


Internal monologue
February 20, 2006, 1:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So, here’s the thing.

I’m not saying I don’t want to blog (I want to! I want to!).

I’m not even saying (to myself, on my own, into the void that is my living room) ‘whither blogging?’ because we’re beyond that now, aren’t we?

(Aren’t we?)

This much I know is true:

Blogging is compelling. Um, QED.

When I first heard about blogging, I immediately thought: I must blog! It’s so obvious! I must blog! (And so I blogged etc.)

There is more stuff I could blog about then I have/do: some rich material, but mostly tittle-tattle.

Blogging makes me feel happy.

Blogging makes me feel grumpy.

BUT. Big But(t) = mine.

I’ve gone off my monniker. I feel I might be overstating things a little.

Yes, I live in a large conurbation and technically speaking, if ‘chick’ merely denotes my membership of the female gender, I am a ‘chick’. But I’m not a chick sort of a chick.

Oh, and I’ve been playing away from home too.

There have been, er, are other blogs.

But no, you don’t know them. And besides, it’s over with them (probably).

And then there’s the peripatetic crumb under my keyboard. First it was the space bar, then it was ‘n’ and now it’s ‘ppppppppppppppp’ (see, had to work hard at that).

And the angst – La Surl’s 200th post hit the nail on the proverbial.

But I’m making excuses now, aren’t I? And I said I wasn’t blogging, didn’t I?

*******

So…let’s talk SOLUTIONS:

1. I shall figure out how to set up and buy a trendy URL (like her, her and her). This will probably take me four years, so don’t worry about changing your link until the late Noughties.

2. I might disable comments.

3. I might not disable comments.

4. I will assemble a working party to brainstorm ideas for a new monniker. I’m thinking of inviting the agency who developed the name for the organisation which grew from a merger of the Benefits Agency and Job Centre. One million squid and they came up with Job Centre Plus. Wow.

5. I will alienate my three remaining readers with extensive bouts of navel-gazing and endless posts in which I pontificate on the blogworthiness of blogging about blogging.

But before you slip into a light coma, a poll on a subject that really matters

Donny Osmond: hot or not?
Hot!
Not!
Free polls from Pollhost.com
5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Can I say “lukewarm” re. Donny?

Why has nobody commented here? Is it a trick?

OK, you’re all laughing at me.

Comment by Geoff

Mmmm.

I have a suspician that UC didn’t actually post this back in February….

Comment by Spinsterella

geoff: no, fence-sitting is not an option when it comes to everyone’s favourite mormon and no, no-one is laughing at you because it’s just you, me and spinny in here

spinny: have you ever thought of becoming a private detective? 🙂

Comment by Urban Chick

I think Spinsterella is totally right. I don’t remember seeing this in February at all

Such a naughty chickadee.

Comment by SBB

Donny Osmond?

For christs sake, he must be at least a hundred years old by now!

Nice teeth though.

I know where they’d feel nice too.

Comment by Piggy and Tazzy




Leave a Reply

