My salad dressing days


Pastoral
November 13, 2005, 5:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I wish I was a provinicial poet,
Writing a lot about nature,
Whenever I thought about London poets,
I’d mutter darkly, ‘I hate yer.’

And off I’d stomp down the wild, wild lanes
In my jeans and my wellington boots.
A provinicial poet doesn’t need lipstick
Or tights or respectable suits –

The clutter of urban life. How wonderful
Just to discard it all
And spend one’s time communing with everything,
Perched on a dry-stone wall.

And after a busy day communing
To amble back home for a bite,
Then go to the pub with some real people,
Who manage twelve pints in a night,

Which helps them get through the provincial evenings
Without too much boredom or pain.
Real people, as solid and ruddy and calm
As a London bus in the rain!

Some day I’ll go and live in the country
And many a notebook I’ll fill
With keen observations of animals (mostly
The dead ones because they keep still).

Dead sheep and squashed rabbits. Oh, how I shall love it.
My face will be peaceful and brown
And shining with love for all of creation,
Excepting those poets in town.

Wendy Cope

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love Wendy Cope! She always gets it dead right. I can’t think of anything worse than sitting on a dry-stone wall for an afternoon – except possibly standing on a dry-stone wall.

Comment by Wyndham

That’s hiliarous! What a great poem.
So, I guess you’re not ready to change your name to Country Chick? 🙂

Comment by Kyahgirl

i have no words. literally none. shall regroup and come back in a bit.

Comment by surly girl

I like that, must go look up more of here work

Comment by Aginoth

And there was me, thinking “gosh, that urban chick, she’s really good at poetry”…

Comment by Pashmina




Leave a Reply

