My salad dressing days


Hey! Step back! Don’t get too close!
October 31, 2005, 12:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


Posted by Picasa
This raffia handbag is best viewed from a distance of 200 yards or more, because up close and personal: it looks cheap. And this isn’t surprising, because it was cheap – as cheap as chips. (See and marvel at how the handles G-L-I-S-T-E-N merrily proclaiming their plasticity. Ah…)

But cheapness aside, it’s the perfect accompaniment to a summer wedding. And let’s face it, nobody is going to be looking at your silly handbag when there’s a girl in a big fluffy white dress to ogle at.

Meanwhile, over at Grammar Puss’s, the debate rages on: two or three classic/last-you-a-lifetime, budget-busting handbags, or many, many bank-manager-pleasing, bin-them-when-you-tire-of-them handbags. Not for the faint-hearted and waaaay more taxing on the brain than the whole shall-we-shan’t-we-withdraw-from-Iraq debate…

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice. I’m all about cheap ones that can be thrown out when I get tired of them.

By the way, you were in my dream last night. I dreamt that you moved in next door to me and you invited Justine from Jutsa blog and me over for coffee. We had a nice time.

Comment by Meegan

Ta very much for the link, UC. Nice bag – I’m not averse to a well-chosen raffia number myself. As you say yourself, these things are important, after all.

Comment by Pashmina

Fabulous..

Prada at Primarks?

Thank you for reassuring me that I am not the only person who buys handbags “just in case”. I still have some pristine, never-been-out-of-my-handbag-crate specimens that I still haven’t found an outfit to co-ordinate with.

Comment by Kellycat

To the debate, I say: BOTH! 😀

Have as many bank-balance-busting and cheapy numbers as is entirely possible… That’s my philosophy.

Comment by Hannah

I have only one successful bag (can’t quite manage “handbag” makes me go all lady bracknell). if i could do a photo thing i would as it is truly a thing of beauty. i can’t so you must imagine a thing of shiny lustrous purply pink – no, not mauve – beauty with flowers on. from vietnam. too nice for everyday, only comes out for best. crikey moses – i have never written so much about bags in my entire life. UC you are a corrupting influence. if i’m not careful i’ll be noticing them in shops and wanting to buy…

Comment by spindleshanks

What a great dream, Meegan! I wonder which handbag we would have chosen to take…
I have to admit, I’m a bit more of a back-pack girl. Dangerous occupation nowadays.

Comment by Justine

I gotta say, I think it’s wicked cute, cheap or not. I have an inexplicable affinity for raffia.

Comment by Jonniker

Oh Lord, I just don’t understand handbags at all. I just bought a new one, and am dreading Pashmina even getting a glimpse of it for fear she will recoil in (undoubtedly justified) horror.

Still, it only cost 23 euros, and I bought it in a very fashionable and bohemian Mediterranean seaside resort…oh, is that where I’m going wrong?

Comment by patroclus




Leave a Reply

