My salad dressing days


Ah, the good old days…
August 24, 2005, 11:42 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

(Yep, a post that makes virtually no sense without the image, which I removed in a fit of fear about being sued over a breach of copyright. Soz.)

Are we to believe that female smokers were more likely to be harbouring a venereal disease? Or were women with venereal disease more likely to take up smoking? Either way, it is advisable to avoid women with eyebrows plucked out of existence.

Oh, and women wearing berets who look like extras from ‘Allo Allo’.

Ah, the good old days…when sex was cheap and advertising was sexist. Thank heaven we’ve moved on since then.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

LOL Where did you find that?

Comment by Jenny G

on the US National Institute of Health (NIH??) website although i’ve seen a similar one on a postcard before

nice, eh?!

Comment by Urban Chick

Yikes. Nothing else to say, really.

Comment by Hannah

The poster forgot to add she seems to be suffering from rubella, too.

I like how they tried to make her look vaguely like Bettie Page. Heh.

Funny little advert you pulled up, UC.

Comment by katiedid

She kind of looks like Cruella Devil from 101 Dalmations.

Comment by GodlessMom

Yikes, what a photo!
Yes, plucking your eyebrows to within an inch of their life can result in a venereal disease LOL. I’m sure there is no connection to sex.

Comment by Kyahgirl

oh. sex used to be cheap? I’m sorry I missed that. xoxo

Comment by mireille

Where did you get that picture? It speaks volumes about the past.

Comment by BarbaraFromCalifornia

HAHAHA!!!! I love these old ads. I have one that I found in a magazine from the 1940s. It’s for Camel cigarettes and it says something like “9 out of 10 doctors recommend Camels.” How times have changed!

Comment by Meegan

Listen, I will say this only once. In those days, a person could cut a dash through the opposite sex safe in the knowledge that good ol’ penicillin would come to the rescue. Yes, we have moved on. How dull it was in those days without the threat of Aids!

I do love those old posters.

Comment by Swifty

She looks French…nuff said ;o)

Comment by Aginoth

Reminds me of last year when I finally dated a smoker. *Gasp*
It’s a tough match since non smokers don’t usually huddle around outside of doorways.
Reminds me of the poster: “Is Your Washroom Breeding Bolsheviks?”
Why didn’t anybody portray commies in a more sexy way?

Comment by Nigel Patel

Never go to war without wearing a helmet.

Dont be a fool, cover your tool.

Before you deck-er, cover your pecker.

I could go on and on, but why. The one liners only get worse from here.

I am sorry I missed the good ole days. STDs were never guys fault. They were always the innocent victims of some tramp.

Comment by The Lazy Iguana

So glad that the times have changed! That picture is creepy!

Comment by Atreau




Leave a Reply

