My salad dressing days


I’m flouncing (did anyone notice?)
August 23, 2005, 7:10 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

My God, blog depression is real. It’s REAL, OK?

How come my traffic is down on last week? How come no-one’s commenting? How come I can’t think of what to blog about?

So I come over all petulant and tell a rather surprised-looking Mr Chick that
BLOGGING
IS
MY
LIFE
NOW

Doesn’t he remember how [Mr Chick recites this bit himself – so familiar is he with the mantra] “switching from a full-time career to becoming a SAHM is a Major Assault On One’s Identity”? Yes, he remembers. Good.

And now the keyboard keys feel hot. Why is that? It’s A-N-N-O-Y-I-N-G. Make it stop doing that NOW.

[Flounces out of cyberspace to make a Nice Cup Of Tea.]

Do I need to tell you that blog depression mixed with PMS is one lethal combination? Nope. Didn’t think so.

Oh, and by the way, I TOTALLY stole this post from a comment I left on Trapped Civil Servant’s blog. Didn’t you hear me? I have blogger’s block. Give me a BREAK.

21 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s OK I got it from Elsewhere too :o)

Comment by Aginoth

I find this post ineffably sad.

A bit like Aginoth’s pussy cat in fact.

Comment by SBB

What an element of truth there is to this post.

I suppose if the blog is a reflection of ourselves, and we see it as such, for some, it is associated with the abiliity or inability to be liked and to please others, the conclusions being, the numbers have everything to say about this in one way or another. This is why I do not have a blog counter, and from day one, I told myself that the blog was so I could express myself, even though it was interactive, it was about me reading the words.

But I truly get your point.

I love those shoes.

Comment by BarbaraFromCalifornia

I wouldn’t worry too much – there seems to be a lot of it going around at the moment. I think it’s a bit like the common cold of the blogosphere.

Which sucks, because I now have a cyber cold AND a real one. Huh.

Comment by Hannah

UC – It might be a bit risky to come over all positive with you right now (methinks there is a significant degree of rage in your depression). But you know I have a themed blog rather than a personal blog? Well, the constraints of the theme actually help the production of the posts – paradoxical as that might seem (I think it’s because I don’t have to rely on my pretty predictable life for inspiration all the time). So, at the risk of sounding like I’ve read The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, how about identifying some themes that you are going to explore in your blog rather than seeing it as mostly a reflection on life in all its amorphous, and let’s face it not always interesting, generality. From past posts, a number of clear thematic strands come through… Empoweringly yours, M

Comment by Mark

he he

actully, i’m not in *such* a bad mood now, especially as it seems i have acquired another nephew overnight 🙂

M: thanks for the words of encouragement…you had better tell me what those thematic strands are, as i am hopeless at identifying patterns (esp in my blog) or is it the photos of my shoes?

but i DO have PMS and the tail end of the snots (sympathy to you, H!)

ok, just gotta go check statcounter

hormonal hugs
UC x

Comment by Urban Chick

I do keep meaning to change the cat…i’ll search for a better icon…

Comment by Aginoth

OK How’s this

Comment by Aginoth

hey UC, you got inner rage? Make it outer and it’ll give you something to blog about. xoxo

Comment by mireille

UC

Just saw your kind note on my blog, and wanted to wish your newest nephew a very happy birthday as well! More cause to celebrate.

Rage is a useless emotion, by the way, unless we can learn to grow from it, and turn it towards a path of inner peace. This is just my two cents.

Hope you have a good day.

Thank you for visiting my blog too.

Comment by BarbaraFromCalifornia

Hi UC, I know how you feel (esp. the PMS part — ugh!). But just so you know, I come to your blog every morning and I am always excited about what I will find — and you never disappoint!

Comment by Meegan

UC, yes — the word verification was installed by blogger to stop spammers — just go to the comments section and it is listed, check yes — xoxo

Comment by mireille

Dear UC:
I have been remiss. I always ‘see’ you on Mireille’s blog and enjoy your posts.However, I didn’t think to come here and ‘see’ you at home 🙂

So, I’ll be back.
I can relate to PMS…as so many of us can. What an ugly black hole to have to tread by every month. Sometimes we slip in a bit. Can’t help it.

hormonal hugs,
Laura

Comment by Kyahgirl

laura

hi and welcome!!

funnily enough, i went a-huntin’ for you from M’s blog the others day and was crestfallen to find there was no laura blog 😦

boo hoo

can we not persuade you to set one up…??

yours-on-the-verge-of-quaffing-a-much-deserved-glass-of-wine,
UC

Comment by Urban Chick

This is very interesting! I always like your posts, even if I don’t get by everyday. I’m spending too much time on the computer. Maybe we all need to step back and take a few breaks, here and there:)

Comment by actonbell

stop stop!! you’re all being too nice – i’m coming over all weepy (jeeez, the hormones…oh, and maybe the wine)

embarrassed now about silly outburst

*blows kisses*

[disappears off to apologise to mr chick and make a Nice Cup Of Tea]

Comment by Urban Chick

OH, UC, I don’t think I could do my own blog. Maybe in a future era. Thank you for thinking of it though. I will have to spend my time cruising around my cyberfriends blogs and hope they can get to know me that way!
🙂

Comment by Kyahgirl

My third post to you today, U.C.

I want you to feel as if you are flourishing today.

Hope your day is going well.

Comment by BarbaraFromCalifornia

I’ve had Blog-Anxiety before, but never Blog-Depression. I did get a dose of Blog-Sheepishness after my London Bombing post.

I mostly find that people have nice things to say. Which I like.

Comment by Justine

I find the moment of release, clicking on the ‘publish’ button, is the exact moment I start to come down. I’m only ‘appy, during the act of composition. It’s similar to post-coital depression I suppose.

Comment by Swifty

Hey UC how about a link on your sidebar in return for “borrowing” that from my blog {grin}

Just call me a link whore ;o)

Oh noticed the Flounce btw :o)

Comment by Aginoth




Leave a Reply

