My salad dressing days


Stuff’n’Nonsense
August 13, 2005, 3:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The Independent are reinstating the Bridget Jones (aka Helen Fielding) column. This is a big mistake. It’s so retrograde. We’ve all had quite enough of Bridget and her Chardonnay-quaffing ways. IMHO they should be out there scouring the bloggosphere for a Noughties version of Ms Jones.

As a starter for ten, they would do well to take a look at Blonde Moments. As I commented on one of her posts last week, Hannah’s life is a Richard Curtis film in the making…

I’ve just taken the ‘Which Jane Austen character are you?’ test and I am Anne Elliot from ‘Persuasion’, which is very pleasing since ‘Persuasion’ is my favourite Jane Austen novel. If you haven’t seen it already, I highly recommend the BBC’s 1995 made-for-television film of the book. Rather excitingly (for me, anyway!), I saw some of it being filmed in Bath.

There are some upsides to returning home from my holiday. It’s the ultimate cliche, I know, but You Just Can’t Get A Decent Cup Of Tea Abroad. I found this website a while back on Slothblog. Its mission statement reads: Well I think we should all sit down and have a nice cup of tea, and some biscuits, nice ones mind you. Oh and some cake would be nice as well. Lovely. All of which reminds me, I need to stock up on some Twinings Lapsang Souchong

Happy Saturday!

Update:
(1) For reasons I cannot explain, everything on my side bar has disappeared to the bottom of the page. If anyone can help with this, please let me know!
(2) Oh, and a message for Hannah: when I say your life is a Richard Curtis film in the making, I mean it as a compliment!

Update on the update:
(1) Once again, my bacon has been saved by the almost-award-winning Blog Queen herself: Mireille. Hugs-a-plenty coming your way, M!
(2) Phew. Hannah has taken my compliment as such. Yay!

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“Noughties?” Did you coin that phrase? God, I love it… may I borrow it from time to time?

Is there anyone out there who isn’t sick of Bridget Jones? Who are these folks who haven’t had enough? Weirdos.

Comment by katiedid

You know that phrase about “sincerest form of flattery?” Well I flattered you all to hell on my blog today … If it makes your blood boil, please let me know. xoxoxo

Comment by mireille

katie: i WISH! nope, it was doubtless some furrowed-brow advertising copywriter

but i do rather like it and don’t see it used enough, so be my guest (or rather be the guest of said advertising copywriter!)

M: as it is you, i AM sincerely flattered

UC
x

Comment by Urban Chick

Chick – you’ve made me blush; you’re too kind!

Comment by Hannah

The time my sidebar slid to the floor, it was because I’d used a whole boatload of italics and boldface in a post. Could that be it? Blogger, for some reason, doesn’t like a bunch of fancy formatting, and will punish us if we go too far afield. xoxoxo

Comment by mireille

M: i LOVE you!! you are the Blog Queen!

i was just in mid-moan to mr chick, spotted your reply, zipped back into the post, took out some emboldening and BINGO!!

**mwah mwah**

Comment by Urban Chick

I had a similar thing happen when I used italics to highlight a quote on my blog. Something to do with the way Internet explorer renders italics.. made my paragraph act like I had an image that was too wide.

Very annoying…

glad you got it sorted!

Comment by Joanna

Still can’t get the setout sorted on the blog sorted sorry Chick. I’m Mr Darcy according to the quiz thing actually I thought it fairly accurate even if I would have prefered to be Anne Elliot!

Comment by Jane

Ha! I love the jane austen quiz… And after years of watching pride and prejudice and proclaiming that i’d make a cracking lydia bennet if i was ever given a part in a costume drama, it turns out i am. Wow, even the internet’s type-cast me…! x

Comment by Izzy

Not fair! I was angling to be Elisa!
“You are Elinor from Sense and Sensibility!”

Comment by Justine




Leave a Reply

