My salad dressing days


Taking the harmonica seriously
July 24, 2005, 11:28 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ll admit it. Until a few years ago, I had never taken the harmonica seriously. It seemed to me to be little more than a kids’ toy of an instrument. That was until I heard Larry Adler [1914-2001].

A quick potted history of the harmonica can be found here.

And, if you’re looking for a taster, I can highly recommend ‘The Glory of Gershwin’, on which famous modern day artists (Sting, Elton John, Jon Bon Jovi etc.) sing some favourite Gershwin tunes, accompanied by the fabulous Mr Adler (recorded a few years before his death).

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Why, Mrs Chick, you have such taste. Excellent.

Comment by Swifty

‘Ere missus, knock the French on the ‘ead please. You’re right. You ARE being annoying commenting in French.

Comment by Swifty

I bought that album a few years ago and had forgotten about it – it’s great – I’m going to get it out and listen right now…..

Comment by atypicalpen




Leave a Reply

