My salad dressing days


Who can beat a finely constructed acronym?
July 12, 2005, 1:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I consider myself the Queen of Acronyms. In the same way others revel in Name That Capital City (Mr Chick is one of these types, for instance), nothing excites me more than a game of Spell Out That Acronym. This wonderful, life-enhancing skill was developed after many years of deep immersion in large governmental institutions.

However, a few weeks ago, I was listening to a discussion on Woman’s Hour when up popped an acronym unknown to me.

YUPPY – check.
DINKY – check.
Er, SITCOM??

So, come on, am I the only person on the planet this acronym has passed by? (Promise to update this post with the answer later. Small prize for the winner…yep, even if you live beyond these shores!)

Oh, and btw, Mr Chick and I are a SITCOM household…does that help?

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ummm. Are we talking situation comedy? That kind of sitcom? Or is there another meaning out there that I’m not aware of?

I’m not sure when I started hearing that term but it must have been during the Cosby Show era.

Comment by GodlessMom

nope, we’re talking an all out one-word-for-every-letter acronym…

it’s very imaginative (*UC kicks self for not inventing it herself*)

Comment by Urban Chick

Okay, this is going to drive me nuts…can we get another hint (besides the fact that you live in a SITCOM household)? Also, what does YUPPY and DINKY stand for??? I really want to figure this out!

Comment by Meegan

YUPPY – young upwardly-mobile p?? person (so long since the 80s when it was invented, i’ve forgotten but you get the idea?!)

DINKY – double income no kids

Comment by Urban Chick

Oh, duh on the yuppy and dinky (although I always thought it was dink, but you could add a y for “yet”).

Hmm…SITCOM…
“Seriously I am Tired, Can i Order a Margarita”?

Okay, I’ve been staring at the screen for 5 minutes and I can’t think of anything else (except, now, margaritas).

The suspense is killing me!

Comment by Meegan

ok, i relent, it’s not THAT interesting (sadly)…

Single Income Two Children Overextended Mortgage

har har har

??!!

but i like your one better, meegan!

Comment by Urban Chick

Aha! No, that is a good one, and it applies to a lot of people. I’m going to think of an acronym for myself now…

Comment by Meegan

I guess that would make us a SIOCOM but that doesn’t sound nearly as good. Yes, I like Meegan’s idea too!

Comment by GodlessMom

This was great, I too love these puzzle type games. Keep them coming!

Comment by KGrams

My parents are currently SKIS, and I’m not too happy about it!

Comment by Hannah




Leave a Reply

