My salad dressing days


Hormones alone were to blame
July 10, 2005, 12:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

For my infatuation with Michael J Fox.

For my teenage (and latter day) obsession with the film ‘Dirty nobody-puts-Baby-in-the-corner-I-carried-a-watermelon Dancing’.

For my penchant for electric blue mascara.

For my collection of legwarmers.

Just felt the need to set the record straight once and for all. Ah, closure…

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I too loved Michael J. Fox, Dirty Dancing and leg warmers. My mom wouldn’t let me go the blue mascara route though… Sigh. Was it hormones? Yeah, that’s got to be it!

Comment by GodlessMom

Thanks for the stroll down memory lane!!! I LOVED Michael J. Fox and Patrick Swayze. My favorite part of Dirty Dancing (other than “No one puts Baby in a corner”) is the part when he is walking away and she calls out, “Johnny!” and then he looks back at her and then they just stare at each other for a minute. I always thought that was so intense. I had a hot pink pair of legwarmers and a purple pair, which I wore over jeans — so cool. And I loved the blue mascara, which I wore with a deep blue, Wet ‘n Wild eyeshadow. Ahh, those were the days! Actually, UC, you’ve just given me inspiration for a post of my own, which I’m going to go write now. Thanks!

Comment by Meegan

meegan: i *inspired* you? gosh, i’m touched (even if it was just the mention of a cheesy 1980s film…)

talking of which, another quote from that marvellous movie:

I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of what I saw, I’m scared of what I did, of who I am, and most of all I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.

ah…jennifer, we were RIGHT THERE WITH YOU (and then you had your nose fixed and you disappeared – why??)

Comment by Urban Chick

WOW… I feel like you just posted my hormonal years. I still love Michael J. Fox and Dirty Dancing. I actually just watched it again a few weeks ago and I even have the soundtrack CD in my car. (yes, I am a sick woman) My favorite part is at the end when she does the jump. I’m a sucker for happy endings!

Yup, had the leg warmers, I felt like Jennifer Beals in Flashdance when I wore them.

It was definitely “Mabeline” Blue Mascara for me.

Thanks for the memories!

Comment by KGrams

Okay UC, I just finished watching Dirty Dancing. I read your post this morning and I’ve been thinking about that silly film all day!

It was just as good this time as it was the first time!

Comment by GodlessMom

Last year, I was sharing a house with three other girls. In the one house, we had four copies of the Dirty Dancing soundtrack, and one copy of the EXTRA music…

Oh, the relief that confessions can give!!

Comment by Hannah

GLM: y’know, just blogging about DD has made me want to watch it again too!

just off to rifle through my box of dusty videos…

Comment by Urban Chick

Blue Mascara! Yes, I wore it too. šŸ™‚

Comment by Kate




Leave a Reply

