My salad dressing days


Put your hands together for…the hollyhock!
July 4, 2005, 1:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I love this plant. It’s bold, majestic and wayward with a hint of don’t-give-a-damn-ness. When you drive through French villages in the early afternoon on a summer’s day and all the shutters are closed (the natives sleeping off their lunch), sometimes the only signs of life are six foot tall hollyhocks swaying nonchalantly in the wind.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love hollyhocks. I have several of them in my garden. I started out with a deep dark purple almost black plant. Then one year I took seeds from a hollyhock in Salem MA. Now I have cross breeds between the two. They are lovely and stunning. I love to pair them with foxgloves.

Comment by Annieytown

I love your description of the plant. It describes me perfectly… then the effect of the pills wears off and reality sets in. Sigh.

I’m afraid my experience of France has been two visits to Paris, and an out of season visit to Cap d’agde (is that correct?). But I intend to visit Provence one day, and hopefully, I too will be “grabbed” by the Hollyhocks.

Comment by Swifty

TOTALLY off topic, but just wanted to say thanks for the comment you left on my blog! My grand total of people who dislike hot weather now stands at… three.

Comment by Hannah

I love hollyhocks too! They grew like weeds in Utah where I grew up but unfortuantely Texas is too damned hot!

Honestly it has been years since I’ve given any thought to hollyhocks, thanks for the reminder!

Comment by GodlessMom

I miss hollyhocks… they grew in all sorts of peoples’ yards in South Dakota, but here in Oregon they are never spotted. I can still remember making hollyhock dolls with my grandmother when I was little.

Comment by katiedid

I’m here to sign up for the French-native-sleeping-off-her-lunch contingent? xoxoxoxo

Comment by mireille

I admire your description of those pretty hollyhocks:) great blog!

Comment by actonbell




Leave a Reply

