My salad dressing days


How to get cheekbones?
June 29, 2005, 1:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have soft, flabby cheeks and it would appear to be a family trait (mother and sisters also suffer). So I’ve been on a quest for some well-defined cheekbones for some decades now. I’m not looking for Michelle Pfeiffer style angularity, just a little more Definition. I’m thinking more Heather Armstrong. I’ve tried sucking my cheeks in, which sort of works, although it makes talking and eating difficult. Perhaps I should wear blusher…

Thoughts anyone?

P.S. I love Dooce (capitalisation tendencies and all).

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I know I have cheekbones somewhere. I just seem to have misplaced them since my daughter was born. :/

Comment by GodlessMom

I always wanted thick wavy hair, instead of the straight uninteresting thatch I’ve inherited. My partner has gorgeous thick and naturally curly/wavy hair, but is forever trying to straighten it. Hmmm… does this tell us something? Perhaps the cheekbones you seek won’t suit you.

I’m trying to imagine soft, flabby cheeks. I can’t. If you have the courage, post a pic and I’ll give you my verdict for what it’s worth 🙂

Comment by Swifty

I know what you mean. Well-defined cheekbones would be great. Oh, well, not in this lifetime for me. I, too, love Dooce (I discovered it from a link on your blog!).

Comment by Meegan

I know quite well that I do have cheekbones, but they seem to have been lost under my gigantic round chipmunk cheeks. I always look as though I’m carrying around a bunch of nuts stuffed in my mouth, which is not particularly a family trait. I want nicely defined chiseled cheekbones, so sharp you could slice deli meat on them. Like Jude Law’s. I’d take his cheekbones.

Comment by katiedid

ahhhhhhh, perfect. Just perfect. xoxoxo

Comment by mireille

chipmunk cheeks! that’s what i have!! (i will admit that one can store bites of cake in there without anyone being any the wiser, so *sighs* there are SOME advantages…)

Comment by Urban Chick

my cheekbones are covered by wrinkles these days.

Comment by BarbaraFromCalifornia

It’s obviously a chick thing. I can’t comprehend why anyone would want such a dramatic change to their features. I’ll get me coat.

Comment by Swifty

I can’t wait until I see my cheekbones and neck! My face still looks so chunky! 😦

Comment by Atreau

Who can forget the wise words spoken by the Duchess of Bedford whose own mother reminded her that, after the age of 40, a woman has to choose between her face and her figure. Do you girls REALLY want to look like Madonna! Oooooo, haggard isn’t strong enough a word!

Comment by madamx




Leave a Reply

