My salad dressing days


I do so love a faded 1980s pop star
June 22, 2005, 9:27 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

How is it that they seem to become cooler with the passing of time? I’ve just watched Nik Kershaw on LK Today (all hail Lorraine, Queen of Niceness) and a sudden wave of teenage hormone-fuelled nostalgia hit me. He looks, well, a whole lot better than two decades ago. And so cute!

Here he is as he was in the ’80s

White jacket, rolled-up sleeves. Ouch ouch ouch. And that HAIR…

And now

In fact, he is cuter than this. Has whitish, rumpled hair and cool glasses. If I was more technically adept, I would pull down a still from the TV show, but I’m not. So you’re just going to have to use your imagination.

And then there was the time I went on holiday one summer and when I got back, Kylie had morphed from soap-star-turned-squeaky-pop-star into groovy pop icon…(Thing is, I ALWAYS loved her, squeaks and all, which makes me a TRUE fan, of course.)

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Uh oh, I don’t know who this is! I’m assuming British. Boy, he had the 80s look down pat. (I am, of course, familiar with Kylie and love her, and yes, she did go from the locomotion to iconic status very suddenly…with about 15-20 years in between.)

Comment by Meegan

I think the most changed pop star award should go to Adam Ant – what happened there? He was so cute!

Comment by Atreau

Hmmm. I must be sooooo old…I do not even remember this guy.

Comment by BarbaraFromCalifornia

Hope your son is feeling better, UC. xoxoxo

Comment by mireille

!!! Adam and was even better though, agreed. I don’t remember anything he sung, but I liked his face.

Comment by Justine

Oh I’m with Atreau, Adam Ant looks like he’s been ravaged by centuries somehow now. Scary.

That 80s hair, though. The maintenance! The sheer amount of product! The quasi-mullet! GAH!

It’s so odd seeing stars from our youth begin to age. Somehow in my mind I always think they will remain preserved just as I always remembered them from way back when.

Comment by katiedid




Leave a Reply

