My salad dressing days


Foreign dictators and breakfast cereals
June 20, 2005, 7:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was just about to (b)log off for the day when I caught an item on Channel 4 News. It turns out that two American servicemen, who had been guarding Saddam Hussein in Iraq, have been on US television revealing, amongst other things, the dictator’s breakfast likes and dislikes (rumour has it he does not like Froot Loops). I am gobsmacked.

How or why is it deemed acceptable for what I presume are serving members of the US armed forces to go on national television to talk in this way? Has the US Military no sense of symbolism? See, as I typed that, I already had the answer.

Now I am no fan of brutal former dictator Mr Hussein, but don’t we try to accord our prisoners a little dignity whilst they are on trial, however much we presume their guilt?

I am truly speechless.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Look at how the pictures of Hussein leaked out and nobody seemed to take the blame for that either so I’m not speechless about that.

It’s the fact that he doesn’t like Fruit Loops – I wonder if he gets to keep the prize inside the box?

Comment by Atreau

I just realized I spelled Froot Loops wrong, I had no idea that it was spelled as such!

Comment by Atreau

I’m warming to him myself, froot loops sound grim. Is it a new kind of torture, the artificially coloured sugary snack method? Also did I hear he likes table tennis? If you were inadvertently locked in a youth club for an afternoon he might be a fun companion.

Comment by chick chick chick chick chicken

What do you know? I have more in common with Saddam than I imagined. Don’t like Froot Loops (although I used to live on them). Do like Doritos. Hm.

Comment by Meegan

off topic but if I could borrow the fancy injection pen, I would be SO appreciative. yours gratefully, c’est chic

Comment by mireille

The lines that are drawn are becoming so blured that at some point, they will disappear.

BTW: I love Fruit Loops!

Comment by BarbaraFromCalifornia

oh, and dear UC, just kidding about the inject-a-pen. Gotta do it the old fashioned way! xoxoxo

Comment by mireille

I wonder if he would like Pop Tarts?

Comment by Justine

You know, over here we are so obsessed with “Reality TV” that I wonder if these real life glimpses into Hussein are an extension of that. “Hey look, the dictator likes Doritos and wears tidy whiteys.” I agree, it is highly inappropriate for our soldiers to be putting out this kind of information. Does the US Military have no sense of symbolism? Nope, I’m afraid not.

Comment by GodlessMom

I came across your blog and I have to comment. Not only were they talking about his breakfast likes and dislikes, they were also talking about how he really likes Cheetos and when they ran out, they went to the PX and bought him Doritos and that these are now his favorite snack.

First of all, why are they even talking about this on national television.

Secondly, I do believe that soldiers are paid with our US tax dollars… they are actually spending my tax dollars to buy snack foods for a Prisoner of War??? Something about this is not right. I totally agree that prisoners deserve fair treatment as well as decent meals, I think buying them snack foods is a little over the top. I would rather see our service men buy the snacks and hand them out to the poor children of Iraq.

Comment by KGrams




Leave a Reply

