My salad dressing days


Come back winter (all is forgiven)
June 19, 2005, 7:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I don’t need reminding:
I’m dreadfully fickle
(Give me a dime and
I’ll ask for a nickel)

I moan about winter
The rain and the cold
The germs and infections
The damp and the mould

By April I’m threat’ning
To move to the Med
My friends look on, laughing
‘Is that what she said?’

‘Just give her two days
Of fully fledged summer
She’ll then think this season’s
A positive bummer’

I’ve had it with sunscreen
And air con and sweating
Those pesky mosquitoes
And bites that I’m getting

I’m begging for winter
Or a move north to Sweden
A hot sunny morning’s
No garden of Eden

So bring back the drizzle
The snow and the flu
All is forgiven!
Winter: I love you!

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

oh UC, this is GREAT! And people do travel between the States and Great Britain, you know. I mean, I owe it to you for being a part of the Coalition of the Willing.
xoxoxo

Comment by mireille

I love it!! I know, the grass is always greener on the other side. It usually takes until August for me to get sick of summer, though.

Comment by Meegan

LOL, very cute. πŸ™‚

Hey, what is winter like there? Do you have much snow? Does it go much below freezing? And how hot do summers get?

My husband and I went to Ireland for our honeymoon and they were having a “heat wave”.

It was in the mid 70s F every day (like 24 C) and they were all complaining about it. “It’s so hot, you can’t sleep at night” etc.

Here it gets to be 90F (32 C?) in the summer, so we found their heat wave very comfortable! But it’s all what you’re used to! πŸ™‚

Comment by Kate

Oooooh – I’m so proud of little urbanchick for writing such a terrific poeyem. All that money spent on her edukashon was plainly not wasted! It rhymes, it scans, it’s funny …..

Comment by motherhen

mireille: i know, it’s just that me getting anywhere near seattle any time soon is a no-hoper 😦 (but yell if you are ever london-bound!)

kate: winter is pretty mild, it rarely snows in london and summer is never guaranteed, although lately we have had some very hot, dry summers but mostly it doesn’t get much hotter than the early 20s (still doesn’t stop us moaning though!)

Comment by Urban Chick

Oh that is awesome! I feel exactly the same way. Canada is looking mighty good right about now!

Comment by GodlessMom

ooh yes, canada sounds good (if only it weren’t so far away – realistically, scandanavia better option for me)

btw, for those of you bothered by the poor scanning in the last line, you have to say ‘winter’ as ‘win-TER’ (i.e. change the inflection)

god, it’s hard being a perfectionist…

πŸ™‚

Comment by Urban Chick

godlessmom: didn’t you mean ‘right ABOOT now’??

he he

Comment by Urban Chick

Definately want winter back, you have fewer fashion worries, it’s easier to warm up than cool down and I’m already sick of salad.

Comment by Jane

This is really Cool, UC..But I’m still a lizard and I’m loving every second of it (salad included)…

Comment by Frenchbird

wow – that poem is awesome!

Comment by Control Freak




Leave a Reply

